Springfield Cardinals OF Oscar Taveras named Texas League M.V.P.

League leading 5 Cardinals named All-Stars

August 28, 2012|Hugh Keeton |

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- The day after the Springfield Cardinals clinched the Texas League North Division 2nd half championship, Cardinals slugger Oscar Taveras is named the Texas League M.V.P.

Taveras, who hit .386 last year at Class A Quad Cities, has put together another strong season to earn Player of the Year honors. St. Louis' No. 3 prospect is batting .322 with 22 homers, 89 RBIs, 10 steals and a .380 on-base percentage for Springfield.

Barret Loux was named the league pitcher of the year. A first-rounder in 2010 who ended up signing with Texas as a free agent, was named the league's Pitcher of the Year after going 14-1 with a 3.50 ERA in his first 24 starts for Double-A Frisco. A midseason All-Star, Loux began the season 10-0 through May and has struck out 99 batters in 126 innings.

The league revealed its postseason squad on Tuesday, selecting notable prospects like Frisco third baseman Mike Olt, who reached the Majors this year, along with fellow RoughRider Jurickson Profar, a shortstop currently ranked as the Rangers' top prospect.

Frisco also sent outfielder Engel Beltre to the roster, joining Taveras and Corpus Christi's Jonathan Singleton, the Astros' top prospect, in the outfield.

Tulsa's Lars Davis and San Antonio's Ali Solis were voted the top catchers, while a trio of Cardinals -- Keith Butler, Seth Maness and Trevor Rosenthal -- were voted among the league's top pitchers.

Oakland's Dan Straily, who struck out 108 in 85 1/3 innings at Midland before going to Sacramento and the Majors, also earned a spot on the All-Star team.

Player of the Year: Oscar Taveras, Springfield (STL)
Pitcher of the Year: Barret Loux, Frisco (TEX)
Manager of the Year: Keith Bodie, Corpus Christi (HOU)
Mike Coolbaugh Coach of the Year: Terry Bradshaw, NW Arkansas (KC)

Springfield had 5 players named All-Stars, which leads the league. 

Taveras joins fellow Cardinals 2nd baseman Kolten Wong, pitchers Seth Maness, Trevor Rosenthall and Keith Butler on the Texas League All Star Team.

KSPR 33 Articles